Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Staff Student Consultative Committee (SSCC)

The SSCC is one route through which you can raise any issues or queries you may have regarding your courses and your environment within the Department. You can also approach your lecturers, your course advisers, department administrative and IT staff, and the Head of Department.

The SSCC includes two elected representatives from each year group of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Computer Systems Engineering and Software Engineering, as well as Electrical and Computer Engineering Masters and PhD students, and relevant departmental staff. They meet at least four times a year.

The SSCC is also responsible for organising events such as staff/student BBQs and sports tournaments.


Useful links for postgraduates

2017 reps

Meeting minutes

12 October 2017
(29.5 kB, MSWORD)

Student reps

Part II reps
Electrical and Electronic Engineering Hyesu Yan
  Cathy Fan
Computer Systems Engineering Alexander Monk
  Ahmad Umar
Software Engineering Sukhans Asrani
  Michelle Tan                      
Part III reps
Electrical and Electronic Engineering Abin Thomas
Computer Systems Engineering Haren Pathi              
  Kunal Bhatia
Software Engineering Edward Zhang
  Zachariah Huxford
Part IV reps
Electrical and Electronic Engineering Farhana Basheer
  Jonathan Yeoh
Computer Systems Engineering Sakayan Sitsabesan
Software Engineering Michael Kemp
  Terran Kroft
Postgraduate student reps
Liruo Zhang (PG Taught)
Heather Riley (PG research)

Tyrone Sherwin (PG research)

Staff reps

Head of Department Professor Kevin Sowerby
Deputy HoD (Academic) Dr Bernard Guillemin
Deputy HoD (Research) Professor Udaya Madawala
Programme leaders

EEE: Associate Professor Nirmal Nair

CSE: Dr Morteza Biglari-Abhari

SE: Dr Catherine Watson

Director of Graduate Studies        Dr Nitish Patel
Postgraduate Advisers

EEE: Dr Dariusz Kacprzak

CSE: Dr Kevin Wang

SE: Dr Kelly Blincoe

Technical Manager   Mr Robert Champion
Group Services Coordinator           Ms Aruna Sundar-Lal
Group Services Administrator  Mr John Lau
Engineering IT Service Manager Mr Ivor Woodfield
SSCC Chair      Dr Andrew Austin